Never Give Up On Your Dreams

I have always been adamant that you should follow your heart and never, ever give up on your dreams, goals, and ambitions. No matter what it is, if you want it you should never stop trying to succeed.

And while becoming a best-selling author IS my dream, that is not what this post is about. This is about the Disney College Program.

For those that do not know, the DCP is an internship offered through Walt Disney World and Disneyland for college students to go and work for Disney in various roles. They have the option to take classes, but it is not required. It is a highly competitive internship and a magical experience to have.

I found out about the DCP when I was a freshman in high school. I discovered it while browsing YouTube, and I knew right then and there that I wanted to do this with all of my heart. I waited and waited, and years went by. It still never left my mind, and finally I was in college. When I was a junior, I applied for Spring 2017. However, due to the high volume of applicants, I did not move forward in the hiring process. I did not receive a Web Based Interview, and therefore did not get the chance to schedule a phone interview. I was NLICd (No Longer In Consideration) officially in October of 2016. I was fine with this! It broke my heart a little bit, but I knew in my heart that it just wasn’t my time. I was not angry or upset, I was driven to work harder to ensure I did better next time.

Well, the new year came and applications went out at the end of January of 2017. I sent in my application once more after tweaking it and making a few changes, and I waited. I hadn’t received a WBI, so I felt that I was not going to. I wouldn’t say I was sad, because I thought, “Well, this just isn’t my time either.” The Disney College Program left my mind for two weeks, because I had lost hope.

But one night, when I was hanging out with friends from high school, I checked my email around 1 in the morning while we were watching a movie. And-there it was. An email for a WBI! Two weeks after applying, I was taken out of submission. My heart stopped and I jumped up, not believing it. I frantically texted some friends, and I was just blessed to have made it further than I had before. I thought to myself, “You know, even if you don’t get in, you at least made it this far.”

That morning at around 3 a.m. I logged onto my account and completed the Web Based Interview, which I passed. I scheduled my phone interview for Thursday, February 9th 2017 at 9 a.m. with glee. Just making it this far was an honor.

That Thursday, I interviewed with Colleen. The call lasted about 18 minutes, and I thought I was going to have a heart attack from the anxiety and anticipation of waiting for the call. But, the call went very well. And I hung up feeling great.

I buckled myself in, preparing for the waiting game. At this point, I was not in any Facebook group or page, so I had no idea of when acceptance waves were going out or anything. I was ready to wait…and wait…and wait. I hadn’t even reached the “check my email every 10 seconds” phase, because I was so sure I was going to wait months before hearing back.

However, on Monday the 13th, I was sitting in a lecture hall when I just happened to check my email. Maybe I had a coupon in there or something that could come in handy that week. But-there it was. A message from Disney that said, “Congratulations!”

I narrowed my eyes at it, not daring to open it. Surely this wasn’t real. I was so sure this was a hoax email, because I didn’t want to get my hopes up only to find out it wasn’t real. I didn’t believe they would have told me this fast. But, after a minute of digging on Facebook, I realized it WAS real!

I hardly paid any attention that class period as I was busy texting everyone I knew with excitement. After class, I practically skipped across campus to my car. I couldn’t stop grinning, and I didn’t care if people thought I was crazy.

I was going to DISNEY WORLD!

When I got back to my apartment, I logged on to find my role and was pleased to get Quick Service Food and Beverage! I was perfectly content with this role, and I would’ve been pleased with ANY role! This was a chance to work at Disney!

So, now, here I am. I have found 7 other amazing girls to live with, and now we are playing the waiting game. We will move in on August 14th, and I cannot wait to spend 5 months in Disney with these awesome people and to experience Orlando.

Disney is a magical place, and dreams come true there. I almost didn’t apply again, but something in me told me to. If I had given up, I would not have this wonderful opportunity. You never know what life will offer you, and if you do not take chances you will never know what could have been.

The worst that could happen is that you fail. And, when that happens, rise and try again. Anywhere worth going in life does not have an easy path, and this is why I never get discouraged. I don’t let negativity ruin my mind or life, and I don’t let it control me.

Whether it is applying to the Disney College Program, publishing a book, getting into graduate school, getting into the college or program of your dreams, asking the girl or guy you like on a date, or literally anything else, you have to at least try. Listen to you heart and your guides, look for the signs. There’s a reason you’re here, and you must find out why.

Peace and Love!

~Lauren

One thought on “Never Give Up On Your Dreams

Leave a Reply

