A Sign

For those who do not know me, I am a very spiritual person. I meditate, work with tarot cards, dabble in pendulum use, and have a slight obsession with crystals and stones and their energies. I try to listen to my spirit and animal guides as much as I can, and I try to interpret my dreams and messages I receive from my guides the best that I can.

I have been writing the book I’m trying to get published for about ten years now, and I finished the first rough draft of the beast December 2015/January 2016. A full year went by where I casually edited it here and there, but not giving it the attention it needed. I sent out a few queries that have gotten nowhere, and it’s a good thing too. My book was not ready (and still isn’t). Work and life and college got in the way, and here I was a year later to be exact in December of 2016 wondering how to get my groove back. I’d been working on the edits of book one and started book two over the summer, but I lost my flow. Writer’s block hit me hard; well, no it didn’t. I have the entire trilogy mapped out and outlined, but I lost my motivation to write. I was in a rut, stuck in the proverbial ditch of life.

When December hit and I realized an entire year had gone by, I panicked. I thought, “Man, I really need to start from scratch and make a new query letter and revise the sh*t out of my book!”

Not a week had gone by since I had that revelation when I found myself shopping at my local metaphysical shop. It was a slow kind of day, so I made small-talk with my friend that works there as I browsed the stunning crystal collection, pondering which ones to buy. Two gentleman entered and started talking to my friend, and I paid them no attention. I had never seen them before nor had I ever met them. I had know idea who they were and they had no idea who I was. Which is why I was surprised when one of them spoke.

“So what’s the deal with the writer?” I heard one of them say. I didn’t look up, because I had no idea they were talking to me. But I felt eyes on me, and I glanced over, confused.

I gave them a “who, me?” look, and said, “What?”

They were all looking at me, silent. The guy who had spoken was looking me up and down curiously. “Yes, you! You’re a writer, aren’t you?”

I nodded, dumbfounded. The idea of people being psychic and intuitive didn’t shock me-I mean hello. Look where I was and how I live my life. I’ve had my fair share of experiences to not be shocked that this was really happening, because it’s happened often enough to me. I was just caught by surprise by the subject he chose to bring up.

“I’ve written a book, yeah,” I replied.

“But it’s not good, is it? You’re not happy with it? It’s not ready?”

I again nodded. “I was literally just thinking about getting back into editing it the other day,” I told them.

He told me that I should, because good things would eventually come. We talked for awhile, introducing ourselves, and finally after about ten minutes they went on their way and I continued looking around, thinking that that was definitely a sign from me spirit guide telling me to get my ass in motion and start writing again after an almost six month hiatus.

Not five minutes later, my grade school literature teacher who I had not seen in over six years walked in the door. She was the one who got me interested in writing and who always supported me and told me to keep up with it. We hugged and laughed, and the first thing she asked me was, “How’s the writing going?”

This was for sure a sign-a message from God, my guides, or whatever you want to believe. So I excitedly went back to my apartment that night and opened my laptop, turned on my writing playlist, and opened my book’s document. I opened up a new tab, and got to work on re-writing it.

Now, almost into March 2017, I am 100 pages away from finishing the revised work. My query letter is way better than before, and once my book is done (again), I will start sending it out. I probably could have finished awhile ago, but like I said-classes, work, and life get in the way when you’re not a full-time author.

I am hopeful, and I am motivated. Never give up on your dreams.

Peace and love.

Leave a Reply

